Austrian Holocaust Memorial Award

The Austrian Holocaust Memorial Award was initiated by the Austrian Service Abroad in the year 2006.

The award is annually bestowed upon individuals or organizations that have shown special endeavour for the remembrance of the crimes of national socialism and thereby set a sign regarding the universality of this injustice.

The award ceremony is typically conducted in cooperation with the local Gedenkdiener and the Austrian embassy of the host country.

Urkunde & Trophäe Austrian Holocaust Memorial Award 2020

Certificate & trophy of the Austrian Holocaust Memorial Award’s 2020 winner Dušan Stefančič, before the ceremonial handing over in Ljubljana, Slovenia. (October 2020)

Awards 2006 – 2022

          2022: Jeffrey D. Schwartz, NaTang und Glenn Leibowitz, Taipei, Taiwan

2021: Tali Nates, Johannesburg, South Africa

2020: Dušan Stefančič, Ljubljana, Slovenia

2019: Tomislav Dulic, Uppsala, Sweden

2018: Alla Gerber and Ilja Altman, Moscow, Russia

2017: Ruben Fuks, Belgrade, Serbia

2016: Giorgio Frassineti, Predappio (Forlì), Italy

2015: Erika Rosenberg, Buenos Aires, Argentina

2014: Margers Vestermanis, Riga, Latvia

2013: Hugo Höllenreiner, Ingolstadt, Germany

2012: Ladislaus Löb, Brighton, England

2011: Auschwitz Jewish Center, Oświęcim, Poland

2010: Eva Marks, Melbourne, Australia

2009: Jay M. Ipson, Virginia Holocaust Museum, Richmond, Virginia, USA

2008: Robert Hébras, Oradour-sur-Glane, France

2007: Alberto Dines, Casa Stefan Zweig, Petrópolis, Brasil

2006: Pan Guang, Center for Jewish Studies Shanghai, China

Austrian Holocaust Memorial Award winner Dušan Stefančič. (2020)

Awardee Eva Marks receives the AHMA from Austrian ambassador Dr. Hannes Porias in Melbourne, Australia. (2010)